5 tips for a successful CES: Startup Edition

As our CEO just explained—if you didn’t watch it yet, check the video above— Delmonicos attended CES 2022. After a successful first experience, and with our heads full of memories, we have now put together a list of a few tips for you to make the most of this global innovation key event.

 

The event, you will anticipate.

CES is an annual event—well, except for the times when a pandemic hits the world with full force— held in Las Vegas, always around the same time of the year: in early January. In other words, any startup that wants to get there needs to start thinking about the logistics as early as possible: the sooner you start planning, the better! The first key to a successful CES is anticipation. Book your flight and make your hotel reservations early, for the best pricing. You should choose your hotel based on its proximity to the event: you would benefit from some deals between these establishments and the CES organizer.

Think of all the equipment you’ll need once you’re there: a TV? A wireless mic? Do you have the necessary power plug adapters for US power sockets? You also must think of your booth set up. The idea is to be noticeable, in the best way possible.

Start planning your stay for the 2023 edition right now by visiting this link: https://www.ces.tech/

 

Your participation request, you will be attentive to.

Buying your ticket isn’t enough to partake in CES. There is a list of criteria you must meet before you are chosen to participate by the organizer. Your line of business should revolve around technology and should be of interest to the US market. The registration request is a detailed questionnaire that you won’t be able to modify afterwards. Be thorough for this step and surround yourself with people who can properly guide you, other firms and startups that have participated in CES before, specific organizations or institutions, startup incubators, or even big companies that sponsor startups.

 

A group, you will enroll in.

Once there, it is much better to avoid being alone and to enroll in a delegation like the one we just mentioned, or in other public and private structures that organize selection competitions for startups.

Don’t keep to yourself! Make the best use of the dynamic brought by the ever-growing French ecosystem: this will enhance your presence at this huge event.

Another advantage of joining a group: you will often benefit from reduced prices—sometimes even for free! — to rent a booth, amongst other things.

See the links below for some great intermediaries that could provide you with useful information:

https://lafrenchtech.com/fr/

https://www.businessfrance.fr

https://www.levillagebyca.com

 

Your talk, you will practice.

The aisles are crowded. Tens of thousands of people came from all over the world and will walk by your stand during these few days. Be ready to present your project in an efficient and effective manner, to answer all their questions. Know how read your audience and move on when you feel that they are not interested: make the most of your time and their time. On the other hand, don’t hesitate to take the person aside if it seems like you have found a potential investor.  Of course, your booth needs to provide all the necessary information regarding your business, starting with your contact information so that visitors can be in touch later: email address, phone number, brochures… But you need to be proactive as well and ask for the most interesting visitors’ contact information, so that you can contact them yourself, once you’re back from the event.

For obvious reasons, your argumentation needs to be ready in French as well as in English. Make an effort with your linguistic skills if you don’t want to miss interesting interlocutors. Right, Mr. President? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2wyG8Kt3fA

 

A side place, you will book.  

You got it now: whether in the aisles or at your own stand, everything at CES is crowded and loud. That’s part of the charm and atmosphere of such an event! However, besides the cough drops you need to always keep with yourself; here’s our advice: plan on booking an extra hotel or meeting room, where you can meet some of the contacts you made during the day later in the evening. You will be able to discuss with your most interesting interlocutors in a calmer atmosphere, ready to present your solution in an even better perspective.

 

That’s it for our tips to make the most of this Las Vegas event. And last, but not least, our final advice: have fun! That’s the best way to stand out from the crowd and make an impact!

Good luck—see you at Las Vegas for CES 2023!

L'interview CES Express de Franck Legardeur

Comme notre CEO vient de vous le raconter (si vous ne l’avez pas vu, regardez la vidéo ci-dessus), Delmonicos était présent au CES 2022. Des souvenirs plein la tête et une première expérience réussie au compteur, nous vous livrons ici quelques tips supplémentaires pour réussir ce rendez-vous incontournable de l’innovation mondiale.

 

5 tips pour réussir son CES quand on est une start-up

 

L’événement tu anticiperas.

Le CES a lieu chaque année (sauf lorsqu’une pandémie frappe la terre de plein fouet…), toujours à Las Vegas, toujours à la même période : début janvier. Ainsi, pour la start-up qui souhaite s’y rendre, ce n’est pas au mois de novembre qu’il faut s’activer ! La première clé d’un CES réussi, c’est donc l’an-ti-ci-pa-tion.

Bookez votre billet d’avion tôt, vous bénéficierez des meilleurs prix. Idem pour votre chambre d’hôtel, que vous choisirez en fonction de sa proximité avec le salon. Vous profiterez de certains deals entre ces établissement et l’organisateur du CES.

Pensez également au matériel dont vous pourriez avoir besoin sur place : une TV ? Un micro sans fil ? Avez-vous des adaptateurs pour les prises électriques US ? Réfléchissez enfin à la configuration de votre stand. L’idée est d’être bien visible et surtout bien vu.

Placez-vous dans les starting-blocks pour l’édition 2023 ! : http://www.ces.tech

 

La demande de participation tu soigneras

Sachez qu’il ne suffit pas de payer sa place pour participer au CES. Il faut être sélectionné par l’organisateur et donc répondre à certains critères. Intéresser le marché américain bien sûr, évoluer dans le domaine de la tech notamment… La demande d’inscription se fait via un questionnaire très précis, qu’il sera impossible de modifier par la suite. Soyez donc rigoureux à cette étape et entourez-vous de personnes qui sauront bien vous conseiller : des entreprises ou start-up ayant déjà participé, ou bien des institutions ou des organismes spécifiques, des incubateurs, ainsi que des grandes entreprises qui parrainent des start-ups par exemple.

 

Au sein d’un groupe tu t’inscriras

Sur place, il est fortement conseillé de ne pas être seul, mais plutôt de s’inscrire au sein d’une délégation comme celle que nous venons de citer, ou bien d’autres organismes publics ou privés qui organisent des concours de sélection pour les start-up.

Ne restez pas seul dans votre coin. Profitez de la dynamique de l’écosystème français, chaque année plus importante au CES, pour mieux exister au sein de cet immense salon.

Autre avantage, participer au sein d’une délégation c’est très souvent bénéficier d’un tarif très avantageux (voire de la gratuité) pour la location d’un stand, entre autres.

Voici quelques interlocuteurs qui pourraient vous être très utiles à ce sujet :

https://lafrenchtech.com/fr/

https://www.businessfrance.fr

https://www.levillagebyca.com

 

Ton pitch tu répéteras

Le trafic dans les allées du salon est colossal. Ce sont des dizaines de milliers de gens venus du monde entier qui passeront devant votre stand durant ces quelques jours. Soyez donc prêt à leur expliquer parfaitement et rapidement votre projet, à répondre à toutes leurs questions. Sachez aussi écourter lorsque vous sentez que votre interlocuteur ne présente pas plus d’intérêts que cela, ou bien au contraire, isolez-vous un peu si vous avez face à vous un potentiel investisseur. Bien sûr, on doit trouver sur votre stand toutes les informations vous concernant, tout ce qu’il faut pour que les visiteurs puissent vous recontacter par la suite : mail, téléphone, plaquettes etc… Mais soyez aussi réactifs et demandez directement les coordonnées des visiteurs les plus intéressants, afin de pouvoir les relancer vous-mêmes, une fois le salon terminé.

Évidemment le pitch doit être maitrisé en français, mais aussi en anglais ! Faites donc un effort sur la langue de Shakespeare si vous ne voulez pas passer à côté d’interlocuteurs intéressants et intéressés par votre produit. N’est-ce pas Mr le Président ? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2wyG8Kt3fA

 

Un lieu B tu réserveras

Vous commencez à l’entrevoir, dans les allées comme sur votre stand, c’est la cohue et le niveau sonore atteint des sommets au CES de Las Vegas. C’est aussi ça qui fait le charme et l’ambiance survoltée d’un tel événement. Mais au-delà des pastilles pour la gorge dont vous devrez vous équiper, voici notre conseil. Prévoyez peut-être de réserver une chambre d’hôtel supplémentaire, ou bien une salle de réunion, où vous donnerez rendez-vous à certains contacts dans la soirée. Vous pourrez alors recevoir vos visiteurs les plus intéressants dans le calme et leur exposez votre solution de manière plus posée.

 

Voilà donc quelques conseils que nous vous conseillons vraiment de mettre en œuvre pour ne pas rater le coche à Las Vegas. Enfin, dernier tips et pas des moindres : pensez à vous amuser et à rester fun ! C’est un excellent moyen de sortir du lot et de marquer les esprits de vos interlocuteurs. Bonne chance et à bientôt, au CES 2023 !